The Organisation for Women in Science for the Developing World (OWSD) is the first international forum to unite eminent women scientists from the developing and developed worlds. The objective of the organisation – based at the offices of The Academy of Sciences for the Developing World (TWAS) in Trieste, Italy – is to strengthen the role of women scientists and to promote their representation in scientific and technological leadership. The OWSD’s flagship programme is the Postgraduate Training Fellowships for Women Scientists from sub-Saharan Africa and Least Developed Countries (LDC) at Centres of Excellence in the South, which creates funding opportunities for women scientists to commence postgraduate studies leading to a PhD. The University of Cape Town (UCT) first joined the programme in 2007, when three UCT students (from Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda) received fellowships. The agreement was renewed in 2012 and, to date, 32 fellowships have been awarded to UCT students.