The AESOP multidisciplinary and intersectorial Erasmus Mundus consortium co-coordinated by the University Paul Sabatier-Toulouse 3 (France) and the University of the Western Cape (South Africa) is composed of 11 European and 9 South African university partners, as well as six additional associate members. AESOP involves 8 thematic fields and encourages the collaboration between different sectors applied to cultural and natural heritage.

European partner universities:

  1. Université Paul Sabatier France
  2. Université libre de Bruxelles Belgium
  3. National Technical University of Athens Greece
  4. University College Dublin, National University of Ireland Ireland
  5. Universitá del Salento - University of Salento Italy
  6. University of Latvia Latvia
  7. University of Lisbon Portugal
  8. University Politehnica of Bucharest Romania
  9. Universidad Rey Juan Carlos Spain
  10. University of Pompeu Fabra Spain
  11. Liverpool John Moores University United Kingdom

South African partner universities:

  1. University of the Western Cape, Western Cape (Co-coordinator)
  2. Cape Peninsula University of Technology, Western Cape
  3. Durban University of Technology, KwaZulu Natal
  4. University of Fort Hare, Eastern Cape
  5. University of KwaZulu-Natal,
  6. University of Limpopo, Limpopo
  7. University of Pretoria, Guateng
  8. University of the Witwatersrand, Gauteng
  9. University of Venda, Limpopo

Types of Mobility





Application deadline date: 4 January 2016
Feedback on application: Information not available yet
Mobility to commence: Before 31 December 2016 (in compliance with relevant host institution's start date)

Scholarship Grant

  Masters PhD Staff
Monthly subsistence allowance (to cover your living expenses including accommodation) 1000 EUR 1500 EUR 2500 EUR
Insurance coverage (health, travel, accident, third party liability) Yes Yes Yes
Tuition fee (if applicable) - Maximum amount covered = 3000 EUR Yes Yes Yes
One return ticket Yes Yes Yes



Application Process

All applications must be submitted online. Only complete applications will be reviewed. The applications will be evaluated on the following criteria:

  • Academic merit
  • Motivation for the mobility period
  • Research Plan

More information

All queries can be directed to Stephanie van Heerden at the International Academic Programmes Office (IAPO).