EUROSA logoEUROSA+ (Europe & South Africa Partnership for Human Development) is a structured and institutionally embedded mobility project involving 9 European, 10 South African and 6 associated partners, aiming to promote mobility activities for South African and European individuals at master, PhD and staff level.UCT is not a member of this consortium, however, UCT students will be eligible to apply for a EUROSA+ scholarship as part of the Target Group 2 category.


European partner universities:

  1. Université Paul Sabatier France
  2. Université libre de Bruxelles Belgium
  3. National Technical University of Athens Greece
  4. University College Dublin, National University of Ireland Ireland
  5. Universitá del Salento - University of Salento Italy
  6. University of Latvia Latvia
  7. University of Lisbon Portugal
  8. University Politehnica of Bucharest Romania
  9. Universidad Rey Juan Carlos Spain
  10. University of Pompeu Fabra Spain
  11. Liverpool John Moores University United Kingdom

South African partner universities:

Cape Peninsula University of Technology, South Africa (Co-coordinator)
Durban University of Technology, South Africa
Stellenbosch University, South Africa
University of Fort Hare, South Africa
University of KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
University of Limpopo, South Africa
University of Pretoria, South Africa
University of the Free State, South Africa
University of the Western Cape, South Africa
University of Venda, South Africa

Types of Mobility

Scholarship Grant

  Masters PhD Staff
Monthly subsistence allowance (to cover your living expenses including accommodation) 1000 EUR 1500 EUR 2500 EUR
Insurance coverage (health, travel, accident, third party liability) Yes Yes Yes
Tuition fee (if applicable) - Maximum amount covered = 3000 EUR Yes Yes Yes
One return ticket Yes Yes Yes


Application calls: 13 March 2016
Feedback on application: Information not available yet
Mobility to commence: Before 31 December 2016 (in compliance with relevant host institution's start date)


Application Process

All applications must be submitted online. Only complete applications will be reviewed. The applications will be evaluated on the following criteria:

  • Academic merit
  • Motivation for the mobility period
  • Research Plan

Application deadline: 13 March 2016

More information

All queries can be directed to Stephanie van Heerden at the International Academic Programmes Office (IAPO).