EUSA_ID - Capacity Building in Higher Education for an improved cooperation between the EU and SA in the field of Development Studies. EUSA_ID offers study, training and research periods in Europe for South African Master and PhD candidates and staff and provides European PhD candidates the opportunity to spend a research period in South Africa. UCT is a member of this consortium and UCT students will be eligible to apply as part of the Target Group 1 category.

European partner universities:
  1. Ruhr-University Bochum Germany
  2. Univerzita Palackého v Olomouci (PalackÝ University) Czech Republic
  3. Jyvàskyàn yliopisto/University of Jyvàskylà Finland
  4. University of Bordeaux 1 France
  5. University Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne France
  6. University Duisburg-Essen Germany
  7. Erasmus University Rotterdam The Netherlands

South African Partner Universities:

  1. University of the Western Cape (Co-coordinator) 
  2. Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University
  3. University of Cape Town
  4. University of Fort Hare
  5. University of KwaZulu Natal
  6. University of Limpopo
  7. University of the Western Cape


Types of Mobility

Masters, PhD and staff mobility

Scholarship Grant

  Masters PhD Staff
Monthly subsistence allowance (to cover your living expenses including accommodation) 1000 EUR 1500 EUR 2500 EUR
Insurance coverage (health, travel, accident, third party liability) Yes Yes Yes
Tuition fee (if applicable) - Maximum amount covered = 3000 EUR Yes Yes Yes
One return ticket Yes Yes Yes


Application deadline date: 15 June 2016
Feedback on application: Information not available yet
Mobility to commence: September/October 2016 or in 2017 (in compliance with relevant host institution's start date)

Application Process

All applications must be submitted online. Only complete applications will be reviewed. The applications will be evaluated on the following criteria:

  • Academic merit
  • Motivation for the mobility period
  • Research Plan

More information

All queries can be directed to Stephanie van Heerden at the International Academic Programmes Office (IAPO).


List of 2015/2016 EUSA_ID research areas

PhD Conference, Bochum - 24-25 September 2015