EU-SATURN logoSeven European and nine South African partners along with four other associated partners form the EU-SATURN consortium. The co-coordinating partners for the EU-SATURN programme are the University of Groningen and the University of the Free State. UCT students and staff will be eligible to apply for this scholarship programme as part of the Target Group 1 category.


For more information on this programme or to apply, please visit the EU-SATURN website.

Study Fields and Partners

For More information on the fields of study offered in this programme.

European partner universities

  1. University of Groningen The Netherlands (co- coordinating partner)
  2. University of Ghent Belgium
  3. Georg-August-Universität Göttingen Stiftung Öffentlichen Rechts Germany
  4. Politechnika Wroclawska Poland
  5. Universitat de Valéncia. Estudi General Spain
  6. Uppsala University Sweden
  7. University of Newcastle upon Tyn United Kingdom

South African partner universities

  1. University of the Free State, Free State (co- coordinating partner)
  2. Stellenbosch University, Western Cape
  3. Tshwane University of Technology, Gauteng
  4. University of Cape Town, Western Cape
  5. University of Fort Hare, Eastern Cape
  6. University of Johannesburg, Gauteng
  7. University of Limpopo, Limpopo
  8. University of the Western Cape, Western Cape
  9. University of the Witwatersrand, Gauteng

Types of Mobility

Overview of Opportunities


Degree Type Duration Target Group 1 Target Group 2 Total
Masters 6 months 7 4 11
  10 months 2 N/A 2
PhD 6 months 2 N/A 2
  22 months 6 5 11
Staff 1 month 9 N/A 9

Scholarship Grant


  Masters PhD Staff
Monthly subsistence allowance 1000 EUR 1500 EUR 2500 EUR
Tuition fee waiver Yes Yes Yes
Flight ticket covering one round trip SA-Europe-SA Yes Yes Yes
Full insurance coverage (health, accident, travel) Yes Yes Yes



Application calls: 15 March 2015
Feedback on application: Information not available yet
Mobility to commence: Before 31 December 2015 (in compliance with the host institution's start date)

Application Process

All applications must be submitted online. Only complete applications will be reviewed.
The applications will be evaluated on the following criteria:

  • Academic merit
  • Motivation for the mobility period
  • Research Plan

More information

For any queries or to schedule an appointment, please contact Stephanie van Heerden at the International Academic Programmes Office (IAPO).