Miller-Sidgwick International Exchange Scholarship

Founded in 1911 by Lucien L. Nunn, the Telluride Association is a non-profit organization that creates and fosters educational communities that rely upon democratic participation. The purpose of Telluride Association is to promote the highest good by educating promising individuals to serve thoughtfully in the world. 

The Miller-Sidgwick International Exchange Scholarships are awarded to exceptional students in support of Telluride Association’s mission of promoting intellectual inquiry and democratic self-government.

Since how best to serve the highest good is a question continually renewed by changing circumstances and problems, the education the Association offers is essentially ethical: it prepares those who receive it to make, on their own and with others, decisions about how to discharge their obligations to humanity, as well as developing in them the skills, knowledge, and strength of character necessary to carry those decisions out. The Michigan Branch Telluride House is resolutely committed to the values of diversity and inclusion.  

Current master and doctoral level students at the University of Cape Town may apply, but this opportunity is NOT open to postdoctoral applicants.

The applicant’s overall programme of studies or degree may come from different disciplines and departments. For a list of Schools and Colleges at the University of Michigan, visit

Only students nominated formally by University of Cape Town will be considered. 

UCT IAPO contact: Penny Van Zyl

For more information on the on the scholarship and the Telluride association please visit:

*Deadline for submission of supporting documents for the Miller-Sidgwick International Exchange Scholarship extended to 14 November 2016.