Home > Partnerships and Programmes > University of Cologne Network Partnership

University of Cologne Network Partnership

The Global Network Partnership is the premier international collaboration programme of Germany’s University of Cologne (UoC). The initiative is designed as a ‘comprehensive and intensive’ cooperation model, addressing both research and teaching. The programme seeks to establish innovative and sustainable structures as part of the partnership. Exchange activities target academics, students and professional staff. Partners are selected on the basis of their structural similarity to the UoC, and their standing in their countries and regions. UCT is the chosen African member in the six-university network, whose other partners are universities from Belgium, China, Japan and the United States of America (USA). Representatives from the International Academic Programmes Office (IAPO) and the Research Office were part of the UCT delegation that attended the 2013 Global Partner Network conference, held in Cologne.

An early outcome of UCT’s membership of this network is the collaboration with the University of Cologne on the DIES Proposal Writing Course. This course forms part of the Dialogue on Innovative Higher Education Strategies (DIES), which is a programme of the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) and the German Rectors’ Conference (HRK). The aim of the DIES Proposal Writing Courses is to enable researchers and younger PhD holders (up to 40 years of age) from countries in the Global South (mainly Latin America, Africa, the Middle East and South East Asia) to develop grant proposal writing skills that meet international standards, and to design, write and budget a promising grant proposal for national and international research funding. The course will be offered at UCT from 2 to 6 June 2014. Three months of e-learning will follow the course, which will end with another contact session from 17 to 21 November 2014 at UCT. Thirty three participants who are researchers and young PhD holders from South Africa, Lesotho, Swaziland, Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Zambia and Malawi, will be attending the course.