The International Academic Programmes Office (IAPO) establishes and maintain partnerships with leading universities worldwide, especially promoting the university's Afropolitan vision by initiating agreements with African universities. In addition, IAPO promotes and facilitates exchange opportunities for UCT students. These include:​

  • IAPO General Exchanges: UCT students in their first year of undergraduate studies and those doing their Master’s or doctoral studies (minimum two-year programme) may apply to go on a semester exchange to one of our partner universities in North America, Europe, the United Kingdom or Australia. 
  • Erasmus Mundus: South Africans with a Bachelor’s degree may apply for a semester exchange or to complete a full degree at a European university, participating in one of the following programmes: EMA2SA, EUSATURN, EUROSA+, EUSA_ID, AESOP, and Intra-ACP.
  • Special Exchanges: First-year female students in the Humanities and Science faculties can apply for a semester exchange at Barnard College in New York. At the end of 2014, this funding will come to an end after a successful five-year partnership. Master’s and doctoral students may apply for the Sidgwick-Miller or Fox scholarships for a year-long research exchange at the University of Michigan and Yale University.